Join the club

Tarot Cards

Learn all 78 Tarot cards

Tarot Cards

The Tarot Cards are a collection of 78 cards belonging to the Major and Lesser Tarot Arcans. The history of Tarot cards goes back to the 15th and 16th centuries, because it is these times that the first decks of Tarot cards that were originally used for the game are dated. In the 17th century, Tarot cards were divided into 22 Great Tarot Arcana and 56 Small Tarot Arcana, but it was not until the 18th century that Tarot cards were distinguished between those intended for gambling and those used for divination. Tarot cards are now a kind of synthesis of Kabbalah and astrology, because they are based on them in terms of structure, symbolism and interpretation. Nowadays, the action and effectiveness of Tarot cards is less and less referred to as occultism, and more and more often it is based on the unconscious and the subconscious, which have been classified in science as depth psychology referring to symbols and archetypes hidden in us. It is perfectly described by Carl Gustav Jung's psychology book, "Jung and tarot". Most Tarot card decks today are based on one of the oldest sights known as the Marseille Tarot. Currently, Tarot card decks are usually divided into two groups. One is based on the Rider-Waite cards created by Arthur Edward Waite, while the other is based on the symbols and appearance of Aleister Crowley's Tarot cards.

Currently available Tarot card decks differ mainly in the technique of execution, expression and symbolism, therefore, although the very basic meaning of Tarot cards remains the same, their interpretation may differ. Below you can see all the Tarot cards based on the Rider-Waite deck. You can find out their meaning by clicking on the image of the card. Below you can see a list of the 22 Tarot cards of the Great Arcans. The Major Arcana of the Tarot are the most important cards that tell about important matters for the questioner, indicate major and significant events in his life and show the course of a given situation. The Tarot cards known as the Great Arcans are numbered from 0 (Fool) to 21 (World). You can check the meaning of each of the Tarot cards below by clicking on its picture. The Little Arcana Tarot is a collection of 56 Tarot cards, which we divide into: Maces (Clubs), Denars (Coins, Pentacles), Cups (Chalices) and Swords. Tarot cards belonging to the Little Tarot Arcans usually indicate smaller matters or events in the life of the questioner. They constitute a kind of background, or a supplement to the story told by the Major Arcana of the Tarot. Familiarize yourself with all the Tarot cards and their meaning by clicking on the selected card.

Welcome to Tarot Online